Kids learn the seven Unitarian Universalist principles, our agreement for how we will treat one another in community, by describing them as a “rainbow” of values. The first letter of each principle stands for the first letter of the corresponding color of the seven colors of the rainbow: Red, Orange, Yellow, Green, Blue, Indigo, and Violet.

  • Respect the importance and value of each person
  • Offer fair and kind treatment to everyone
  • Yes to spiritual growth and learning together
  • Grow by exploring ideas and finding your own truth
  • Believe in your ideals and voice your vote
  • Insist on justice, freedom and peace for all
  • Value our responsibility in the web of life

Unitarian Universalists find inspiration from six sources. The stories and themes in our faith development are drawn from these foundations of our faith:

  • the sense of wonder we all share.
  • women and men long ago and today — people whose lives remind us to be kind and fair.
  • the ethical and spiritual wisdom of the world’s religious.
  • Christian and Jewish teachings which tell us to love all others as we love ourselves.
  • the use of reason and the discoveries of science.
  • the harmony of nature and the sacred circle of life.